NaNoWriMo-OhNo

NaNoWriMo is upon us! You don’t know what NaNoWriMo is? Why, it’s one of the greatest and most stressful times of the year for an aspiring writer!

NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month and it takes place every year during the entire month of November. For the entire month, Wrimos all over the world take part in writing a novel with a minimum of 50,000 words. Seems pretty hefty, right? It is, but it’s a lot of fun. This will be my third year participating and hopefully my third year of “winning” (you win when you reach 50k words). I’m really excited about my story this year, far more than I was for my previous two, so I’m expecting great things to come from this story.

For the month of November, I’ll be posting NaNoWriMo updates, focusing on how I’m doing, my current word count, and possibly some excerpts from my novel. For now, I’ll give you a synopsis of my novel, which is called Returned.

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

Day after day, Ezra must guide souls on the verge of dying to their fates. Ezra is a harbinger of death, tasked with making sure those destined to die do no deviate. In his afterlife, Ezra is a death god. Despite the fact that Ezra was once alive himself, he no longer feels empathy for those dying. A job is a job, a soul is just another soul.

That is, until Ezra meets Colette.

Colette has a heart condition that requires her to be on multiple medications and doesn’t allow her to be overly active, despite her desire to be outdoors. Unfortunately, because Colette has become Ezra’s newest task, her time is running out.

The more Ezra learns about Colette, the more he wants to change her fate. But what price will he pay for doing so?

Leave a Reply

