Life Happens [8]

lifehappens_label

Life Happens is a weekly feature here at Books and Burlap. It will feature highlights from the previous week, as well bookish topics.

What happened this week… Hmm… Well, at my school, benchmark testing started and I was in charge of creating the schedule. That went decently, I guess…only had a few people complain about where I put them, but I went off of class size and how many computers were in what computer lab. Oh well. At least the rest of the time has gone swimmingly. I did take my first “mental health” day of the year on Wednesday; my mom took off that day too, so we left the county and went shopping (even more fun!)

Friday was the start of my college’s homecoming, so of course I went. The gala was Friday night and the homecoming tailgate/game/etc. was Saturday. Sadly, we lost the football game, but the rest of the time was super fun. I’m so glad I got to see so many of my friends, especially my sorority sisters and my freshman year roommate.

image (15)

My Randolph-Macon nails!

image (16)

My freshman year roommate, Megan, and me.

image (17)

My good friends/sorority sisters, Denise and Amber.

On Sunday, I traveled to Charlottesville to visit Michie Tavern (best fried chicken ever!), Monticello (Thomas Jefferson’s home), and Carter Mountain Orchard (yummy apples). Fall in Virginia is absolutely gorgeous, so I took a bunch of pictures of fall leaves.

Peach cobbler and tea from Michie Tavern

Peach cobbler and tea from Michie Tavern

Once I finally got home from the chaotic weekend, I spent what was left of the weekend with my little prickly princess, Violet. She’s finally coming around and enjoys being held (at least by me…she really doesn’t like my parents yet). She’s such a cutie patootie!

How can you not love a hedgehog? Little miss grumpy pants.

How can you not love a hedgehog? Little miss grumpy pants.

Leave a Reply

