Life Happens [7]

lifehappens_label

Life Happens is a weekly feature here at Books and Burlap. It will feature highlights from the previous week, as well bookish topics.

As mentioned in my previous post, this past week at school was homecoming spirit week. It was a lot of fun to participate in the spirit days, but I’m looking forward to getting back into professional mode and out of silly mode. I won’t elaborate on spirit week, since I talked about it in my A Librarian’s Closet post for this week, but it was definitely a lot of fun.

Saturday, I went to Kings Dominion for their annual Halloween Haunt. Usually I go with a rather small group, but this year there were 8 of us. It was so much fun to be with a larger group, especially since I hadn’t seen a few of them in several months (including my best friend). I didn’t get as scared as I usually do, but that was probably because I knew what to expect since I’ve been every year for the past 4 years. Of course, that’s not saying I didn’t get scared at all…there was one instance when someone chased me out of one of the haunted mazes with a chainsaw. That was pretty terrifying.

My best friend and me waiting in line for one of the haunted mazes.

My best friend and me waiting in line for one of the haunted mazes.

Sunday I spent all day playing video games and watching Netflix with Violet snuggled in my lap. That’s how we bond: she sleeps in my lap, while I do something lazy.

Violet snuggling in one of her many cuddle sacks.

Violet snuggling in one of her many cuddle sacks.

bunting1

I’m in the process of reading Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I’m also planning my road trip to Charleston, SC for YALLFest in November…I can’t wait to meet so many amazing young adult authors and have them sign my books. I have a feeling I won’t be sleeping much that weekend!

Leave a Reply

