The Selection by Kiera Cass

theselectionTitleThe Selection by Kiera Cass

Release Date: April 24, 2012

Publisher: HarperTeen

Source: Bought it

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

doodle-border-5

When I heard that this book was a mix between The Hunger Games and The Bachelor, I immediately knew I had to read it. I also fell in love with the cover…I mean, how gorgeous is America in that dress?

For me, the book didn’t really get interesting until America was on her way to the castle to be part of The Selection (that’s not really a spoiler…I would assume everyone could figure out that’s what happens). Now that’s not saying that the very beginning wasn’t interesting, I just enjoyed America’s time at the castle far more.

The characters were great, though America sometimes made me want to shake her. I also sometimes had a difficult time keeping track of all 35 girls, though the number did dwindle quite rapidly. I’m pretty sure some of the candidates didn’t actually have names…if I remember correctly. I must admit that there were some girls whose names were a bit…silly. Seriously, there was a girl named Tiny. Yes, Tiny. Who knows what names are going to be popular in the future/in a dystopian world, but some of the names kind of bothered me. But only just a bit!

There are a lot of negative reviews on The Selection (go checkout Goodreads if you’re curious), but I feel like some people are too harsh about this book. Sure, it isn’t the next Divergent or The Hunger Games (even though it is compared to it…but there really isn’t any violence), but it’s a wonderful YA romance read.

At the end of the day, I really enjoyed this book (and the whole trilogy!) In fact, I read the whole trilogy in just 3 days…I rarely ever finish a book in a day, or even in one sitting for that matter…but I was so into the story, I just couldn’t stop. Plus, Prince Maxon just makes me swoon!

I give this book a 4/5 star rating.

4hearts

2 thoughts on “The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. I absolutely LOVE your review! You have the exact same thoughts I did — boring beginning, strange names, not fantastically well written but super engaging nonetheless (I wish I read them when all three were out so I could read them all in 3 days as well!) — and I also have a literary crush on Maxon. I’m super excited for your reviews on the rest of the series (assuming you’ll continue), especially The One. Have you read any of the short stories she keeps publishing? I gave one a try, but short stories are never my favorite. ~Gwen

    Like

  2. I thought the first book was super cute and I enjoyed it, but the 2nd book I thought was AWFUL and the only thing I liked about the third book is that it wasn’t as bad as the second book. I heard there’s actually going to be more books in this series, though I don’t know if I’ll continue it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

