Life Happens [2]

lifehappens_label

Life Happens is a weekly feature here at Books and Burlap. It will feature highlights from the previous week, as well bookish topics.

This past week was the first full week of school where I work, and it was quite chaotic. Between pretesting and distributing the new tablets to the freshmen class, the library was incredibly busy. I am glad to get the majority of the tablets out of the library, but there are still a few students who have yet to turn in their agreement forms, and, therefore, cannot be issued a tablet. Here’s hoping this coming week isn’t quite as strenuous as the last.

On Saturday, my entire family attended a dedication ceremony at my undergraduate college, Randolph-Macon. My grandfather, like me, is an alum of RMC. Not only that, but he’s a rather important figure to the college. Let’s just say that he donates quite a bit of money to the school…so much so, that this dedication was for a building he paid for.

Welcome to Birdsong Hall! Apartment housing for current seniors.

Welcome to Birdsong Hall! Apartment housing for current seniors.

Impressive, right? Of course, I joked with Granddaddy Tom about why he couldn’t have had this built when I was still a student…we took a tour of one of the apartments after the dedication ceremony. All I can say is those seniors are SO lucky, and I am quite jealous.

I love my grandparents so much. My family in general means the world to me. I’m so glad for the opportunity to celebrate such a wonderful dedication, especially for a person I love, as well as for the school I cherish.

image (1)

My grandparents and me after the dedication ceremony.

bunting1

As for all things bookish, I’m hoping to get a review up this week for The Selection by Kiera Cass. Unfortunately, between school work and work work, I haven’t had much time to dedicate to reading for fun. Hopefully I’ll be able to get into a better routine and can find the time to do so.

Leave a Reply

