The Maze Runner by James Dashner

themazerunner TitleThe Maze Runner by James Dashner

Release Date: October 6, 2009

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Source: Bought it

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

doodle-border-5

After putting off reading this book for quite some time, I finally got around to it; mostly because the movie is coming out soon and I wanted to read it before I see it. At first, I was a bit nervous to read it, as there are so many mixed reviews on it. There are a ton of people who love it (there’s quite a rabid fanbase), yet there are quite a few people who really didn’t. Naturally, this instantly put me on alert, but I knew I should make a decision for myself.

I actually enjoyed it.

Now, I wouldn’t go to say that it was my all time favorite YA book (The Hunger Games holds that spot), but I would say it’s high on my list of recommendations. The part I enjoyed the most was the scenery that was described. Usually, my first aspect of a book to judge are the characters, but the scenery grabbed my attention more so from this book. I do have to add that some of the characters fell completely flat for me…Minho and Chuck were about the only ones I really enjoyed reading about. Between Thomas, Alby, Newt, Gally, etc., they just didn’t give that wow factor to me.

Another part that aggravated me a bit was how often talking about the maze/not talking about the maze came up. Thomas constantly asked about it, but rarely did anyone give him a clear response. If I were Thomas, I would have gone nuts from something like that.

Despite these issues I had with the book, I really found myself having a hard time putting it down once I started. It took a bit for me to get into it at first, but once I did, I could see why there was so much hype for it. There were so many moments when I kept going WTF, that I actually felt more compelled to read.

 I give this book a 4/5 rating.

4hearts

One thought on “The Maze Runner by James Dashner

  1. Hi gretchen.. I couldnt agree with u more. I wouldnt say its the best out there but and its a big but.. I really loved it! All the way to the end of the series! There were moments that gave out the strength of the story but it was ok, in real life theres ups nd downs too. So written world is no exception. Im really glad u liked it. Ure one person added to people who shares the same sentiments with mine. Excited to watch it on screen.. Dylan baby is a sight to see, u think so?? Heehee

    Like

Leave a Reply

